[Review] Avril Lavigne’s “Goodbye Lullaby”

I’ve finally gotten my hands on Avril Lavigne‘s fourth studio album ‘Goodbye Lullaby’, and my first impression is “different”. Her latest effort sounds completely new and outstretched from her previous releases; don’t get me wrong, that doesn’t mean the album sucked, in fact, it is completely the opposite, ‘Goodbye Lullaby’ totally rocks. To sum things up in a few, Avril sounds vocally stronger than ever, the lyrics are more in depth, the music is hot and I’m completely taken in by her new sound. Definitely worth the wait and if you have doubts then purchase ‘Goodbye Lullaby’ right now. Allow me to dissect this piece of art and discuss why each song could be a single.

‘Black Star’ is a beautiful intro to the masterpiece that’s forthcoming. You may remember that Avril named her fragrance the same title, which means going after your dreams and believing that you can achieve whatever it is you’ve set out to achieve. I love the piano in this short but sweet and inspirational song, leading into the second track that basically tells you to let loose and stop thinking so much about whatever issue you’re faced with.

‘What the Hell’ is the perfect line for taking a risk and not caring about the consequences. Don’t we all use it sometimes? I love how Avril made this song playful while singing about being naughty and carefree. Great job girl. This song is the new anthem for ‘I could care less about what you think’.

‘Push’ is a song for couples sticking through the tough times and making the relationship work no matter what. This song is my first favorite on the album, and Evan singing the bridge with her adds so much depth. I absolutely love the message she’s depicting in the line “maybe you should just shut up even when it gets tough, ’cause baby this is love.”

‘Wish you were here’ plays on the heart of the heartbroken. Don’t you wish that special someone was still here when they’re gone. It’s a case of you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone. Avril is trying to convey how much she still loves her ex and how much she misses and wishes he’ll come back. The song is so relatable and thought provoking. I absolutely love it. This is my second favorite track.

‘Smile’ is about meeting someone who is as crazy as you are, but compatible enough to make a relationship work. Meeting such an incredible person has given you the reason to smile. No matter how wild and out of control you get, there’s that special someone to accept it all and love you the way you are. Another one of my favorite. By the way Avril keeps it real throughout this record. You can guarantee the cussing!

‘Stop Standing There’ is basically a continuation of ‘Smile‘. Avril keeps going in this one. She wants to understand her lover completely. She doesn’t want to waste any time. She wants to show her love in every way possible. Who wants to be the only one trying? Stop standing there not making a move. When you love someone you want to put in a lot of effort and you want them to do the same. 

‘I Love you’ is keeping the concept of love and affection going. This track is all about loving every little thing about your beloved. However, all the different qualities that they embody is not the true reason why you love them, it’s the fact that they’re just the way they are. That’s right, love someone for who they are. ‘The reason I love you is because you’re you’. 

Avril is right on with this one. ‘Everybody Hurts’, so don’t feel like it’s just you going through whatever it is you’re going through. Love comes and goes, but we can’t give up on life. We all go through it, and it’s ok to scream, or to feel pain, cos in the end it will be ok. It’s ok to be afraid. Such a beautiful song to remind us we won’t be hurting forever.

Sometimes it’s just ‘Not Enough’. Some people just can’t feel satisfied, and sometimes you just don’t know what to do to win someone’s heart. Avril is saying no matter what the guy does, no matter how he loves her, it’s still not enough to give her what she wants. Yikes! What does he have to do to keep her.

Avril wants the guy to know she’s ‘4 Real’. Her love is strong, the feelings aren’t fake; she wants to take it to the next level cos the love is for real. The title says it all. Who wants to be in a relationship that isn’t ‘4 real’? When you’re inlove you want to show it all. I love the bridge, it exhumes passion.

‘Darlin’ is another sweet love song. This album is made up of some wicked ballads. Makes me wonder if Avril is inlove. This track sounds like something you’d play on your porche, watching the sunset with your beloved. A lovely song with passionate lyrics. It’s basically about loving with all you have. Despite being heartbroken before, or if the one you love now is scared, you wanna give your in the relationship. I love how the drums pick up towards the end of the song.

‘Remember When’ is like an interlude to the end of a relationship. Avril sings about losing love, but still having the feelings creeping up on her. It’s hard for her to pretend not to care. She remembers the memories, the love, the passion, everything within the relationship, but it’s already over and she knows she can’t go back. A song for two people who’ve ended their relationship but continue being friends. Breathtaking indeed.


There comes a time when you just have to say ‘Goobye’. No matter how you may love the person, and might still care for them, when a relationship is over, it’s just over. Avril is saying adieu to her love but wants him to always remember that she will always love him. An end to what used to be so beautiful to her it seems.

Overall, EY gives this album a rating of 4.8/5. It’s completely lovers friendly, and while her previous albums were more on the rockier side, ‘Goodbye Lullaby‘ showcases a more subtle Lavigne. Not sure how the new album fares with her punk rock fans, but I think it’s a beautiful work of art just the same. Welcome back Avril!


Track listing:

01. Black star
02. What the hell
03. Push
04. Wish you were here
05. Smile
06. Stop standing there
07. I love you
08. Everybody hurts
09. Not enough
10. 4 Real
11. Darlin’
12. Remember when
13. Goodbye
14. Alice (bonus track from “Alice in Wonderland“)

(images courtesy of avrillavigne.com)

2 thoughts on “[Review] Avril Lavigne’s “Goodbye Lullaby”

Share your positive thoughts, not your animosity!!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.