[Review] Young Jeezy’s “TM 103: Hustlerz Ambition”

Released: 12.20.2011

TM:103: Hustlerz Ambition” sounds like the soundtrack to a man’s journey to the top and his cockiness about staying there. There’s bitterness and aggression towards haters, but definitely love and appreciation to well wishers. Amidst the story there are a few about ambition, motivation, and intimacy. No other rapper like Young Jeezy self-proclaims himself as a living legend on every record released. Does that mean he’s too absorbed in himself? Absolutely not. The ATL native is just super confident in his artistry and enjoys keeping it real.

Young Jeezy reps the streets and exhumes his lifestyle as a non-stop hustler on heavy grinders like ‘What I Do (Just Like That),’ ‘OJ (which by the way has a play of words on the murder of Nicole Brown),’ ‘Nothing,’ ‘Way Too Gone,’ ‘Everythang’ and ‘F.A.M.E. featuring T.I. His laid back rhymes never get tired, and of course, its also that ability to not rush that makes his sound interesting.


The opening, ‘Waiting,’ reminds us this is not a comeback when the rapper has always been here. Another one of the many tracks on the album making reference to the life of a hard-working artist, while ‘Supa Freak,’ ‘All We Do,’ ‘Leave You Alone,’ ‘I Do’ featuring Jay-Z & Andre 3000 and ‘Higher Learning’ featuring Snoop Dogg chills out the intensity and focuses more on the ladies in and out the rapper’s life.

One thing that definitely surprised me was Jill Scott’s appearance on ‘Trapped,’ a song about built up frustration over the years. The soulful artist was actually spitting on this one in her signature poetic flow and that completely blew me away. Like ‘Leave You Alone’ which featured Ne-Yo, adding soul and r&b singers to a track truly does magic when mixed with jeezy’s irresistible swag.

While rap music certainly has changed over the years, with many switching things up and fusing their sound with pop elements, others like Jeezy maintain that hood vibe until the end. I have to admit though, while he’s been away, Rick Ross has somewhat taken his shine; rapping about similar issues. However, Young Jeezy has that flow that will always divert attention back to himself. Like I’ve stated before, it’s that laid back style that people never get tired of. “TM:103: Hustlerz Ambition” gets a rating of 4.7/5


Track listing:

01. Waiting
02. What I Do (Just Like That)
03. OJ (ft. Fabolous & Jadakiss)
04. Nothing
05. Way Too Gone (ft. Future)
06. Supa Freak (ft. 2 Chainz)
07. All We Do
08. Leave You Alone (ft. Ne-Yo)
09. Everythang
10. Trapped (ft. Jill Scott)
11. F.A.M.E (ft. T.I.)
12. I Do (ft. Jay-Z & Andre 3000)
13. Higher Learning (ft. Snoop Dogg, Devin the Dude & Mitchelle’l)
14. This One’s For You (ft. Trick Daddy)


Purchase the album now on iTunes

Send your requests to Kai: embraceme10@yahoo.com

3 thoughts on “[Review] Young Jeezy’s “TM 103: Hustlerz Ambition”

Share your positive thoughts, not your animosity!!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.