Book Review: All Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover

Release date: July 17th 2018 Publisher: Atria Books Purchase: Amazon Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Synopsis via Goodreads: The #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us—whose writing is “emotionally wrenching and utterly original” (Sarah Shepard, New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars series)—delivers a tour de force novel about a troubled marriage and the one old forgotten promise that might be able to save it. Quinn … Continue reading Book Review: All Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover

Book Review: ‘Seeking Sarah’ by ReShonda Tate Billingsley

Release date: August 15th 2017 Publisher: Gallery Books Purchase: Amazon Rating: 3/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: From the national bestselling and award-winning ReShonda Tate Billingsley comes this gripping and emotional exploration of the complex bond between mother and daughter.  From the time Brooke Green was seven years old, she has lived with the pain of losing her mother. Her father has done the best job he could in raising her, … Continue reading Book Review: ‘Seeking Sarah’ by ReShonda Tate Billingsley

Ten Books to Read this Fall

Here are my recommended reads for fall: 10. Oblivion (Nevermore #3) by Kelly Creagh 9. Dodging Temptation (Retreat #1) by Avery Flynn 8. Death on Ibiza by Katja Piel 7. A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan 6. Surviving Ice (Burying Water #4) by K.A. Tucker 5. International Love Affair (The Venture Capitalists #1) by LiSoya Gilltin 4. The Allure of Dean Harper (The Allure #2) … Continue reading Ten Books to Read this Fall

Book Review: “Before We Were Strangers” by Renée Carlino

Release date: August 18th 2015 Publisher: Atria Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Sweet Thing and Nowhere But Here comes a love story about a Craigslist “missed connection” post that gives two people a second chance at love fifteen years after they were separated in New York City. To the Green-eyed Lovebird: We met fifteen years ago, … Continue reading Book Review: “Before We Were Strangers” by Renée Carlino

Book Review: “The Summer of Chasing Mermaids” by Sarah Ockler

Release date: June 2nd 2015 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak. Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, … Continue reading Book Review: “The Summer of Chasing Mermaids” by Sarah Ockler

Book Review: “Volition” by Lily Paradis

Release date: February 6th 2015 Publisher: Empire Books Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being? It’s because you’re contradicting the universe. Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work … Continue reading Book Review: “Volition” by Lily Paradis

Ten Books to Read in April

Here are my highly recommended reads for this month. You can click on the book covers for more info as well as links to purchase them. 10. “Marrow” by Tarryn Fisher New Adult Suspense Atria/Simon & Schuster 09. “One Night” by Eric Jerome Dickey Adult Romance Dutton Books 08. “The Truth About Us” by Janet Gurtler Young Adult Realistic Fiction Sourcebooks Fire   07. “Chasing Bristol” … Continue reading Ten Books to Read in April

Book Review: “Where Sea Meets Sky” by Karina Halle

Release date: March 31st 2015 Publisher: Atria Books Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Joshua Miles has spent his early twenties spinning his wheels. Working dead-end jobs and living at home has left him exhausted and uninspired, with little energy to pursue his passion for graphic art. Until he meets Gemma Henare, a vivacious out-of-towner from New Zealand. What begins as a one-night stand soon becomes … Continue reading Book Review: “Where Sea Meets Sky” by Karina Halle

You Should Read: Issa Rae’s “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl”

Release date: February 10th 2014 Publisher: Atria Books/37 Ink Purchase: Amazon Summary via Goodreads: In the bestselling tradition of Sloan Crosley’s I Was Told There’d Be Cake and Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, a collection of humorous essays on what it’s like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits, and black as cool. My name is … Continue reading You Should Read: Issa Rae’s “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl”

Book Review: This Side of Home by Renee Watson

Release date: February 3rd 2015 Publisher: Bloomsbury Pre-order: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Identical twins Nikki and Maya have been on the same page for everything—friends, school, boys and starting off their adult lives at a historically African-American college. But as their neighborhood goes from rough-and-tumble to up-and-coming, suddenly filled with pretty coffee shops and boutiques, Nikki is thrilled while Maya feels like their home is … Continue reading Book Review: This Side of Home by Renee Watson

10 Most Common Grammar Mistakes People Love To Correct (That Aren’t Actually Wrong)

Have you ever seen a person obsessively correcting other people’s grammar errors even if they are minor or non-existing? Or maybe you’re that kind of person?  Some mistakes are obvious and it’s a real wonder that people just can’t seem to learn those common rules. On the other hand, some “mistakes” are not mistakes at all, and correcting them makes you look both petty and … Continue reading 10 Most Common Grammar Mistakes People Love To Correct (That Aren’t Actually Wrong)

Book Review: The Secrets of Lily Graves by Sarah Strohmeyer

Release date: May 13th 2014 Publisher: HarperCollins Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: With the intrigue of Pretty Little Liars and plenty of romance, bestselling author Sarah Strohmeyer weaves a story of secrets and lies—set in a funeral parlor. Growing up in a house of female morticians, Lily Graves knows all about buried secrets. She knows that perfect senior-class president Erin Donohue isn’t what … Continue reading Book Review: The Secrets of Lily Graves by Sarah Strohmeyer

Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Release date: August 12th 2014 Publisher: Simon Pulse Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why. Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on … Continue reading Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Book Review: “All Lined Up” by Cora Carmack

Series: Rusk University #1 Release date: May 13th 2014 Publisher: William Morrow  Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack follows up her trio of hits—Losing It, Faking It, and Finding It—with this thrilling first novel in an explosive series bursting with the Texas flavor, edge, and steamy romance of Friday Night Lights. In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and … Continue reading Book Review: “All Lined Up” by Cora Carmack

Book Review: Thirty Sunsets by Christine Hurley Deriso

Release date: July 8th 2014Publisher: FluxPurchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: To Forrest Shephard, getting away to the family’s beach house with her parents and her brother, Brian, is the best part of every summer. Until this year, when her mother invites Brian’s obnoxious girlfriend, Olivia, to join them.  Suddenly, Forrest’s relaxing vacation becomes a mission to verify the reality of Olivia’s rumored eating disorder. But the truth behind Olivia’s … Continue reading Book Review: Thirty Sunsets by Christine Hurley Deriso

Book Review: “Cursed be the Wicked” by J.R. Richardson

Release date: March 3rd 2014 Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Cooper Shaw lives his life under a pen name and enjoys the anonymity it provides during his journeys across the globe as a seasoned writer for a travel magazine. When his job lands him in his hometown of Salem, Massachusetts, to cover the famous Festival of the Dead, he soon realizes that he can’t stay … Continue reading Book Review: “Cursed be the Wicked” by J.R. Richardson

Book Review: “The Truth About Alice” by Jennifer Mathieu

Release date: June 3rd 2014 Publisher: Roaring Brook Press Purchase: Amazon Rating: 4/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: Everyone has a lot to say about Alice Franklin, and it stopped mattering whether it’s true.  The rumors started at a party when Alice supposedly had sex with two guys in one night. When school starts everyone almost forgets about Alice until one of those guys, super-popular Brandon, dies in a car wreck … Continue reading Book Review: “The Truth About Alice” by Jennifer Mathieu

Book Review: “Fire & Flood” by Victoria Scott

Series: Fire & Flood #1 Release date: February 25th 2014 Publisher: Scholastic Press Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother’s life—and her own.  Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for … Continue reading Book Review: “Fire & Flood” by Victoria Scott

You Should Read: “Unburnable” by Marie-Elena John

Release date: April 11th 2006 Publisher: Amistad Purchase: Amazon | B&N Synopsis via Goodreads: In this riveting narrative of family, betrayal, vengeance, and murder, Lillian Baptiste is willed back to her island home of Dominica to finally settle her past. Haunted by scandal and secrets, Lillian left Dominica when she was fourteen after discovering she was the daughter of Iris, the half-crazy woman whose life … Continue reading You Should Read: “Unburnable” by Marie-Elena John

Book Review: “Anything to Have You” by Paige Harbison

Release date: January 28th 2014 Publisher: Harlequin Teen Purchase: Amazon Rating: 3/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: Nothing should come between best friends, not even boys. ESPECIALLY not boys.  Natalie and Brooke have had each other’s backs forever. Natalie is the quiet one, college bound and happy to stay home and watch old movies. Brooke is the movie—the life of every party, the girl everyone wants to be.   Then … Continue reading Book Review: “Anything to Have You” by Paige Harbison