Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Release date: August 12th 2014 Publisher: Simon Pulse Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why. Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on … Continue reading Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Book Review: “The Truth About Alice” by Jennifer Mathieu

Release date: June 3rd 2014 Publisher: Roaring Brook Press Purchase: Amazon Rating: 4/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: Everyone has a lot to say about Alice Franklin, and it stopped mattering whether it’s true.  The rumors started at a party when Alice supposedly had sex with two guys in one night. When school starts everyone almost forgets about Alice until one of those guys, super-popular Brandon, dies in a car wreck … Continue reading Book Review: “The Truth About Alice” by Jennifer Mathieu

Book Review: Invisible by Cecily Paterson

Release date: February 11th 2013 Publisher:Cecily Paterson Purchase: Free on Amazon Rating: 5/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: Jazmine Crawford doesn’t make decisions. She doesn’t make choices. She doesn’t make friends. Jazmine Crawford only wants one thing: to be invisible. For Jazmine, it’s a lot easier to take out her hearing aid and drift along pretending that nothing’s wrong than it is to admit that she’s heartbroken. She starts to … Continue reading Book Review: Invisible by Cecily Paterson

Kelly Clarkson Reveals Her ‘Dark Side’

My oh my has she toned down. Kelly’s looking different, if not fresh faced in her latest music video for the new single ‘Dark Side.’ The song channels the painful things some people tend to hide, or maybe not hide but that those on the outside tend to not pick up on it. The words are thought-provoking, but to me, the song and video sounds … Continue reading Kelly Clarkson Reveals Her ‘Dark Side’

Bullying The Cause For Ohio School Shooting?

People are evacuated from Chardon High School in Chardon, Ohio, about 30 miles east of Cleveland, after a number of students were shot there at the beginning of the school day Monday, Feb. 27, 2012. Officials said the number of victims is not yet known and a suspect has been taken into custody.  MANDATORY CREDIT; ; ONLINE OUT Photo: The Plain Dealer, John Horton / AP

If you’re out of the loop like I was earlier, then you probably missed the news about a shooting at Chardon High School in Ohio. Apparently, a teenager, not a student at that particular school, opened fire in the cafeteria killing one and wounding four others. A witness said that the young boy targeted a group of students sitting together, and while another described the suspect as an outcast who was bullied, others disputed the matter.  Continue reading “Bullying The Cause For Ohio School Shooting?”