Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Release date: August 12th 2014 Publisher: Simon Pulse Purchase: Amazon Synopsis via Goodreads: Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why. Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on … Continue reading Book Review: Random by Tom Leveen

Book Review: Invisible by Cecily Paterson

Release date: February 11th 2013 Publisher:Cecily Paterson Purchase: Free on Amazon Rating: 5/5 Synopsis via Goodreads: Jazmine Crawford doesn’t make decisions. She doesn’t make choices. She doesn’t make friends. Jazmine Crawford only wants one thing: to be invisible. For Jazmine, it’s a lot easier to take out her hearing aid and drift along pretending that nothing’s wrong than it is to admit that she’s heartbroken. She starts to … Continue reading Book Review: Invisible by Cecily Paterson

Thousands Walk To Raise Suicide Awareness

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s Annual Out of the Darkness overnight walk drew nearly 2,000 participants on June 9th in San Francisco. The event included survivors of suicide loss, those with depression and other mental illnesses, as well as suicide prevention advocates. The 2012 Overnight has raised $2.3 million.  I’m posting this because I haven’t really seen any other focuses on the even and … Continue reading Thousands Walk To Raise Suicide Awareness

Teen Forced To Marry Rapist Commits Suicide

First off, why is there such a law allowing rapists to marry their victims to get away from rotting away in prison? That’s some bull. And the fact that her family would condone to such a thing is beyond ridiculous. There’s not even a word to describe the dreadfulness of this issue. When you evaluate the case and realize why 16 year old Amina killed herself, can you even blame her? She was forced to marry her rapist because apparently ‘losing your virginity is the same as losing your worth,’ it’s like having your freedom taken away from you twice. And I can’t for the love of all things good understand why people do some these things all in the name of their beliefs, but then again, who am I to question or judge them. Still, it’s quite sad to see how women are treated in these countries and how unjust their world can be.  Continue reading “Teen Forced To Marry Rapist Commits Suicide”